A Love So True

A Love So TrueI so enjoyed this novel and I just felt for the heroine – poor spinster Evelyn – she has no husband, she has pox marks on her face, no hope of ever having her very own children and now, she might even be losing her livelihood!  Yes, if her parents retire she would need to leave the orphanage too as a single woman could not possibly run it.  Made me so grateful to not have the some of the same societal rules they had back in the early 1900’s!  I also loved Evelyn’s large heart – she adores kids – both the orphaned ones and the societal outcast ones born to prostitutes.  But not only does she care for the children, she also cares for their mamas – the “soiled doves”, trapped in demeaning, abusive jobs with no hope of ever escaping.  Evelyn brings hope, even as she despairs ever escaping her own past.

“A Love So True” is the second book in the series but completely stands alone.  It’s a bonus to have read the previous Teaville Moral Society novel but not necessary.

I know this is a story about early 20th century Kansas, but the author also made me think about the attitudes I might have towards societal outcasts.  Would I act like some in the book and turn a blind eye or even avoid coming into contact with the outcasts or would I try to help them?  This was a great book to read yet it also made me think.  I highly recommend it!  I received a copy of this book from the author and publisher to help promote it. No review was required but I am freely writing one. All thoughts and opinions are my own.

For those in the local area, the Burke Community Church Fiction bookclub will be reading one of Melissa’s books for our September meeting and Melissa has graciously agreed to chat with us via Skype for the meeting!

 

The Author:

jagearsheadshotcompressed

Much to her introverted self’s delight, Melissa Jagears hardly needs to leave her home to be a homeschooling mother and historical romance novelist. She doesn’t have to leave her house to be a housekeeper either, but she’s doubtful she meets the minimum qualifications to claim to be one in her official bio. Her passion is to help Christian believers mature in their faith and judge rightly. Find her online at http://www.melissajagears.com, Facebook, Pinterest, and Goodreads.

“I stay home with my kids, and though that’s PLENTY enough to do, I decided to add homeschooling and writing novels into my schedule too! I am an English/English as a Second Language teacher by trade and still occasionally convince myself to stuff an English class into my schedule since I LOVE adult second language learners (When students are eager to learn, that’s a teacher’s dream job).

My husband and I have been married since 2001 and have a daughter and two boys. My husband loves blacksmithing, knife smithing, traditional archery, hunting, etc. Generally whatever a mountain man does, he does it or has or wants to attempt it. He comes in handy for research!”
About Mesm18
PS – I love this sepia photo – what a great idea!!!
Leave a Reply

